RIGA | Great Guild Hall 22. May



Guntars Freibergs, percussion

Sinfonietta Rīga

Conductor Normunds Šnē



Igor Stravinsky Concerto in E-flat Dumbarton Oaks 8.v.38

Jānis Petraškevičs Chamber symphony for 34 instruments and solo percussion Echoing Distances (premiere)

Robert Schumann Symphony in C major, op. 61



Igor Stravinsky believed that music is inextricably linked through the ages, and borrowing the ideas from other composers, as it was common in Bach's era, leads to an exciting dialogue with the greatest minds of the past. In his chamber concerto Dumbarton Oaks Stravinsky does it with aristocratic deference and exquisite grace. The melancholic romantic Robert Schumann was also inspired by Johann Sebastian Bach, in his counterpoints finding the source for a new expression that lifted the composer's spirit and led him to create the Symphony in C major, the musical flow of which is reminiscent of river rapids. The contemporary Latvian composer Jānis Petraškevičs, known for his insightful expression and delicate sense of beauty, joins the conversation with a brand new chamber symphony - tempered by headwind and Schumann-like contrasts. Its solo part will be performed by percussion virtuoso Guntars Freibergs. Truly, a splendid finale for the 15th season of Sinfonietta Rīga!


Photo: ©Ģirts Raģelis

W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"
F. Mendellsohn - Symphony No. 3
Linda Leimane - Guesstimations
R. Strauss - Oboe Concerto
We are playing