Pēteris Trasuns

Pēteris Trasuns is a graduate of Ogre Music School and Emīls Dārziņš Music School. At the moment he studies viola performance under Ināra Brīnuma in Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music.

He is a musician in the viola section of Sinfonietta Rīga since 2014. Trasuns is also an active chamber musician, usually found among the musicians of the Piano Quartet Quadra, but does not turn down other projects. Mainly focuses on contemporary and classical music, but plays jazz, metal, electronic and other styles of music as well.

Trasuns has participated in various festivals and competitions both locally and internationally. He has performed solos with the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra Sinfonia Concertante, Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music Symphony Orchestra and the Emīls Dārziņš Music School Symphony Orchestra. He has collaborated several times with the State Choir Latvija. He premiered Imants Zemzaris’s viola solo piece Es vēl pa fjordiem (I’m still in the fjords), and was also first to perform several other contemporary Latvian composers’ compositions written for viola and piano, or chamber ensemble.

Pēteris also actively does premieres with the Piano Quartet Quadra. The musician has improved his abilities in masterclasses by Matthias Maurer, James Creitz, Andra Dārziņa, Tim Frederiksen, Yuri Bashmet and other masters of viola, and widened his chamber music knowledge in masterclasses by Johannes Meissl, Evan Rothstein, and Johannes Søe Hansen.

W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"
F. Mendellsohn - Symphony No. 3
Linda Leimane - Guesstimations
R. Strauss - Oboe Concerto
We are playing