Ilona Meija

Ilona Meija began her musical activities in Limbaži Music School under Agris Liepiņš, continuing her studies at the Jāzeps Mediņš Secondary Music School under Dace Bičkovska and the Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music under Vilnis Strautiņš and Gunta Sproģe, where she obtained a Bachelor’s degree in 1994 and Master’s degree in 2007.

In 1991 Ilona joined the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra as the piccolo flutist. From 1997 to 2001 she was the principal flutist of the Latvian National Opera and Ballet Orchestra. Since 2006 Ilona is the principal flutist of the Chamber Orchestra Sinfonietta Rīga. As a soloist she has appeared with the Latvia National Symphony Orchestra, the Latvian National Opera and Ballet Orchestra and Sinfonietta Rīga.

Currently Ilona Meija teaches flute performance, chamber music performance, orchestre repertoire and woodwind quintet performance at the Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music. Ilona Meija was the flute professor at master classes of Salacgrīva Classical Music Festival, Maastricht (Netherlands), Cosenza (Italy), Järvi Festival in Pärnu (Estonia), as well as many Latvian cities. Ilona Meija performs in various chamber configurations. Since August 2014, she is president of the Latvian Flute Association.

W. A. Mozart - Symphony No. 41 "Jupiter"
F. Mendellsohn - Symphony No. 3
Linda Leimane - Guesstimations
R. Strauss - Oboe Concerto
We are playing